A Whack to the Drawing Board

First, I would like to apologize for missing my scheduled posting yesterday. Hubby-pants monoploized the laptop most of the day. Everyone wave ‘hi’ to Hubby-pants and ask him not to get mad at me for wagging a finger of blame in his handsome little face.

Anyway, I have at least five blog drafts in my arsenal of wittiness. I’m not going to use any of them today. Because I’m bummed. I’m bummed that I had another convo with the Mom-in-Law (a lovely discussion held over Easter dinner in a crowded restaurant…about several discreet methods of murder), and it turns out I have to re-work the last four chapters or so of my novel. Grr.

Contrary to what I had come to believe during our first converstation, the character I’m trying my damndest to kill off, would not actually be on a ventilator after the first attack on his life. Frick. It turns out the effects of a succinyl choline injection would wear off if the EMT’s got to the character in time to take him to the hospital. He would be on a ventilator initially, but not long enough for my main character to find out he was still alive, formulate a homicidal plan to tie up loose ends, and carry out said plan. Frick. I did, what I thought, was sufficient research on the drug, but that was before I got this far in my plot and the question of how long the effects lasted never crossed my mind. At the time, it wasn’t a need-to-know detail. Frick. So, I learned a valuable lesson. The problem is, I’m not sure if the lesson has to do with mapping out my entire book first before doing research or if when I do research I exhaust myself with learning every possible detail.

While I’m figuring that out, I’ll be beating my drawing board with an aluminum baseball bat. Repeatedly.

By the way, this is not a fishing expedition for compliments on how great everyone thinks I am and “By golly gosh, I’m sure you’re a literary genious” comments. Harsh encouragement such as “Stow your bellyachin’ East and get off your friggin’ pity pot!” would be greatly appreciated…along with advice….Or you could just say “hi.” To me or to Hubby-pants or to both.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to get back to (whacking) the drawing board. *sigh*

19 thoughts on “A Whack to the Drawing Board

  1. I have had a novella written for about a year now but I constantly find little tied bits here and there that are historically/situationally inaccurate…nothing more frustrating than having to re-write things!. Anyways, glad to hear you have a novel in the works. Would love to read it when it’s done!

  2. That happened with me to. I ended up having to throw out a good chunk of stuff and rework other stuff in. It’s hard taking that knife and cutting out chunks, but your story will be so much better because of it. And think–now you have to make your villian work even harder!

  3. I think this is a problem a lot of writers face, you think you have your research done and then one small detail becomes a lion of a problem. Don’t beat up your drawing board to much, this little complication might lead to an even better plot twist 🙂

  4. I’ll be the one to just say hi to you and your “hubby-pants” since I know nothing about writing. So… HI!! 🙂

  5. Just a thought. A friend of mine in high school died when she was administered a drug that reacted with her diabetes medication. Maybe the killer could remove a person’s medic alert bracelet so that the hospital would finish the job that they started?

    I feel a bit evil right now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

