BLOOD IN THE PAINT May Be LIVE…But There’s Still No Rest for the Weary!

As many of you know, Blood in the Paint was released this past Monday. I regret to say I didn’t announce it with much fanfare, though. I was tired! I was tired of the revisions, the edits, the read-throughs, and the delays. But the e-book is finally available, with the paperback soon to follow, and I wish I could say I was looking forward to some down time.

Despite the following picture, I’m not…

cottages

Today I’m heading out to a cabin near Rehoboth Beach, DE to partake in a writing retreat with several ladies from the South Jersey Writers Group. If you remember the last chapter title I mentioned in the Table of Contents Teasers post, you’ll recall that the next book in the Blood for Blood Series will be entitled Blood in the Paper. (You’ll have to read Blood in the Paint to really ‘get’ the title, sorry!) So, that’s what I’ll be working on this weekend! I already drew out some mind maps for each of the main characters, a returning character from Blood in the Past, and a NEW character. I’ve listed the events of the storyline in order using Scrivener’s corkboard tool. AND–this is the most exciting part–I’ve already written the opening scene! Squeee!

I’ve never been on a writing retreat before, but I’m confident I’ll be able to put out a sizable word count. Have any of you been on a retreat like this before? Do you have any tips for me? I’d love to hear them!

And don’t forget, Blood in the Paint is available on Amazon for the Kindle and Kindle app. Download a copy today; it makes a great weekend read!

18 thoughts on “BLOOD IN THE PAINT May Be LIVE…But There’s Still No Rest for the Weary!

  1. I’ve never been on a writing retreat. We need to slow the Earth’s rotation down by a couple of hours to let me shoehorn in some more time! I hope your writing is more productive than my reading at the moment. I’m a bit embarrassed to say I’m only 50% of the way through Blood in the Paint. But geez it’s getting good!

    *** Hey everyone! Grab a copy of Blood in the Paint! There’s some seriously gripping scenes in there. Very cleverly done. ***

  2. I would LOVE to go on a writing retreat. I think it’s something I’m working up to. Now I know the boys can handle me being away for a night or two there’s nothing stopping me but funding. 🙂

Leave a Reply

