“The Next Big Thing” Blog Hop

Hello all! If you keep up with me on here, Twitter, or Facebook then you were looking forward to today. Robert Chazz Chute so graciously allowed me to participate in The Next Big Thing blog hop, started by Bridgette O’Hare, and here is my post about my WIP. I know you’ll enjoy it, so I won’t even say “Enjoy!” (Oops, I said it anyway.)

1. What is the working title of your book? Blood in the Paint is the main novel.  I’m also simultaneously working on the novel’s prequel, a novel/novelette (I’m unsure what length it will turn out to be), entitled Blood in the Past. It involves the main characters’ lives ten years prior to the events of the novel, and further explains how their lives became entangled.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book? I read crime thrillers voraciously and thought it would be interesting if, for once, a crime thriller followed the perspective of the killer rather than the victims and/or the detectives. Of course, the cop is still one of the main characters, but he’s not exactly the protagonist. Lyla, the serial killer, is. I think the idea of a serial killer as a protagonist is unique and actually quite nifty.

3. What genre does your book fall under? I used to think it was suspense, but since we know who’s doing the killing, that’s not exactly right, now is it? After a little internet research, I found my novel technically classifies as a Psychological Thriller, but I think Crime Thriller is pretty accurate also.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? For Lyla Kyle, my seductive killer, Catherine Zeta Jones would be perfect and Garcelle Beauvais would make a great Jillian Atford, the psychologist…if this was ten years ago. If I had to pick two current actresses, I suppose I would choose Kate Beckinsale and Gabrielle Union, respectively. As for Jason Brighthouse, the boyish cop, I would love to see Joseph Gordon-Levitt play that part. I actually have a board dedicated to this on Pinterest.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Blood in the Paint follows a female serial killer and the ambitious cop after her as they see the same psychologist, who happens to have deadly ties to both their pasts. (Forgive me, that needs work.)

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? Most definitely self-published.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? I’m actually still working on it. I imagine the total time spent will be somewhere around a year altogether.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Honestly, I personally haven’t read anything where the killer is a sympathetic character. I’m sure it exists somewhere (I’m no literary genius), but I just haven’t stumbled across it as of yet.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book? I was originally inspired by the boredom of unemployment. I wrote nine awful, amateurish chapters before I found work. I had named one of the characters after my best friend, but a couple of years ago we had a falling out. When she died last year, a few days before Christmas without us ever having made up, I decided to pick it up again and finish it, just for the sake of finishing it. I never thought of it then as I do now, as a possible career. Presently, my husband is my biggest inspiration. I couldn’t ask for a better support system in another human being. He’s my biggest cheerleader. Don’t worry babe, you’re a manly cheerleader, it’s just an expression. 🙂

10. What else about the book may pique the reader’s interest? I think my dialogue comes across as very genuine. When you read reviews, a number of readers complain about characters being “cardboard.” There are also a number of “real” situations that people can identify with, such as infidelity, divorce/separation, grief, suicide, etc…apart from the murder and revenge, or course. 😉

Why is there “Blood in the Paint?” Find out, Summer 2013.

Leave a Reply

