“Jerks and Irks” Series. Now Where’s My Damn Drum Roll?

In the interest of becoming a recognizably regimented blogger chick (posting regularly on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays), I have decided to make Mondays special. I know you’re thinking, Yeah, Mondays are special alright. And that’s why I picked Mondays: because Mondays usually blow. For most people, it means going back to work or school. Since I’m temporarily unemployed, it means my husband goes back to work and I go back to ignoring housework and blogging my tushy off instead. Oh, and I work on my novel too.

So, without further ado, I humbly introduce Monday’s “Jerks and Irks” series. Here I will humorously (I hope?) rant about tiny things and/or tiny-minded people that annoy me. I’m warning you ahead of time, my tirades may be unfounded. I won’t apologize if they are. But, feel free to open up a dialogue in the comments section.

Today’s IRK is inspired by indie authors whose book summaries include the phrase “A coming of age story/book/novel/adventure/etc.” Like I said, my annoyance might be unfounded, but I am always searching for new books to download to my Kindle Fire and I would guesstimate that at least 41.7% of the descriptions I read begin with this cliche. Drives me nuts. There has got to be another way to tell us about your novel JERKS! By the way, if I read a summary like this, I don’t download the book. I figure if the author didn’t put any thought into the wording of their summary, they were probably just as careless with their novel. I feel similarly about typos. If you cannot properly proofread a paragraph, odds are your novel reads like the scribblings of a 13 year old. So, again, I’ll pass.

So what jerks are irking you on this fine Monday?

*Note: If anyone can prove that I am, in fact, the one who is being a jerk, I will change the tagline of JJE to “A Coming of Age Blog about the Journey of Jordanna East.” Maybe. 

5 thoughts on ““Jerks and Irks” Series. Now Where’s My Damn Drum Roll?

  1. I am TOTALLY with you on the “coming of age” thing. What the #@&! does that mean? People just slap it on anything!

    Oh, and I love the phrase “tiny-minded people.” I might have to use that one. 🙂

    • I don’t know what it means. But I remember an episode of Seinfeld where Elaine had to BS her way through describing a book for some job interview and that was the first thing she said. Ha!

      Steal away, I don’t mind!

      • YES!! I remember that episode, too! She was interviewing for an editor gig. Kramer actually read the book and told her about it because the book was in Seinfeld’s apartment, which was being fumigated.

        As you can see, I watch a lot of Seinfeld.

  2. Pingback: “Jerks & Irks” III: No Need to Buy Your Book Now, Thanks « journeyofjordannaeast

Leave a Reply

